The Situationist

Celebrating Situationist Contributors

Posted by The Situationist Staff on September 27, 2007

Marc Sheff’s Psychology Trophy (

Some digging, sleuthing, and googling by the Situationist Staff turned up some good news about this blog’s impressive cast of contributors. We report a sample of that news below – in alphabetical order by last name. (You can learn more about each Situationist contributor by clicking on her or his name in the left column).

* * *Banaji Award

Mahzarin Banaji won the 2006 Morton Deutsch Award for Social Justice awarded by the International Center for Cooperation and Conflict Resolution, at Columbia University’s Teachers College (she is pictured to the left with Morton Deutsch and Peter Coleman who presented the award). This year, Banaji received a Presidential Citation from the American Psychological Association.

* * *

Adam Benforado finished a clerkship on the D.C. Circuit Court of appeals this summer and has recently begun working as an attorney in Jenner & Block’s elite D.C. office. He is currently on the legal-academic teaching market.

* * *

Susan Fiske published another superb book, Beyond Common Sense: Psychological Science in the Courtroom (2007) (co-authored with Eugene Borgida) (to which Mahzarin Banaji wrote the preface). Susan also made a presentation at the 2007 Association for Psychological Science’s Annual Convention.

* * *

Jon Hanson was named the Alfred Smart Professor of Law at Harvard Law School. In 2006 he was voted a finalist for the Albert M. Sacks – Paul A. Freund Teaching Award. Hanson also co-founded and directs The Project on Law and Mind Sciences and co-created this blog.

* * *

APSJohn Jost received the Morton Deutsch Award for Distinguished Scholarly and Practical Contributions to Social Justice, awarded by the International Center for Cooperation and Conflict Resolution, at Columbia University’s Teachers College. Jost’s American Psychologist article on “The End of the End of Ideology” received the Gordon Allport Intergroup Relations Prize for the “Best Paper of the Year” in the area of intergroup relations, Sponsored by the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues (SPSSI). Finally, Jost was elected Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science (APS) in 2006.

* * *

Jerry Kang received the 2007 Rutter Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award recognizes outstanding commitment to teaching at one of three law schools — UCLA, USC and UC Davis.

* * *

Michael McCann was invited by Sports ( to become a legal columnist (his columns can be read here). McCann received the 2006-07 Professor of the Year Award, 2006-07 First-Year Professor of the Year Award, and 2005-06 First-Year Professor of the Year Award at Mississippi College School of Law. McCann is also the Chair-Elect of the Association of American Law Schools’ Section on Sports and the Law and was named to the Executive Board of the College Sport Research Institute. Finally, he co-founded The Project on Law and Mind Sciences and co-created this blog.

* * *

Brian Nosek was awarded the 2006 Division of Experimental Psychology Young Investigator Award in Experimental Psychology and the 2007 Michele Alexander Early Career Award for Scholarship and Service, Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues. In 2006, Nosek also received the University of Virginia Department of Psychology Outstanding Professor Award. Next month, he will give a plenary lecture at the World Forum for Social and Environmental Responsibility in Lille, France.

* * *

Emily ProninEmily Pronin has been extraordinarily productive in 2006 and 2007. Her co-authored published articles include “Temporal Differences in Trait Ascription,” “Everyday Magical Powers” (which has been the subject of several of the most popular Situationist posts, such as here, here, and here), “Manic Thinking,” “Bombing versus Negotiating,” “Perception and Misperception of Bias in Human Judgment,” “Alone in a Crowd of Sheep,” “Valuing Thoughts, Ignoring Behavior,” and “Doing Unto Future Selves as You Would Do Unto Others.”

* * *

The Construction of PreferencePaul Slovic published the fascinating new book, The Construction of Preference (Cambridge University Press, 2006, with Sarah Lichenstein).

* * *

Tom Tyler’s “Why People Obey the Law”Tom Tyler published an updated version of his classic book, Why People Obey the Law (Princeton University Press, 2006).

* * *

Timothy Wilson, along with his co-authors, Elliot Aronson and Robin Akert, published the sixth edition of Social Psychology (Prentice Hall, 2006).

* * *

David Yosifon finished his first year teaching at Santa Clara University Law School at which he was voted Professor of the Year.

2005 Zimbardo - Havel Award

* * *

Phil Zimbardo retired from teaching at Stanford this year — having taught more students than any other single professor in the history of that university — apparently so that he could fly around the world (including to Harvard Law School) talking about his remarkable book, “The Lucifer Effect,” which recently climbed its way to #11 of the NYTimes best-seller list.

* * *

Finally, we want to welcome and thank Marc Scheff, the talented artist who painted the remarkable image of a “situationist trophy” at the top of this post. We look forward to introducing Marc properly next week.

One Response to “Celebrating Situationist Contributors”

  1. […] Recently I was invited to feature new editorial works for an ongoing Social/Political blog with a neat Psychology twist: The Situationist […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: